On Our Way to Number One


Through the course of history, one must realize  and understand that God has played a major role in a lot of things. Painters in the Renaissance Era understood that: Michaelangelo certainly understood it as he painted the Sistine Chapel. Our Founding Fathers understood, Abraham Lincoln got it, Winston Churchill knew, hell I bet that Kennedy knew it!

So when I watched as the bottom of the 9th inning came on the TV I knew that there is a God and that he probably has enough power to allow the Texas Rangers to get at least two runs to tie the game against the Chicago White Sox and go into extra innings.

That being said, sometimes you gotta believe that  if God liked our Founding Father enough to start a nation that it goes to reason that He would like that nation’s pasttime. And to further reason He wouldn’t mind if Nelson Cruz, our last batter of the night’s game, gave ol’ glory a home run on America’s birthday.

True, even if Nelson Cruz hit a home run during that at bat the Rangers would have still been down by one run, but the principle would have been there. At least, that’s how I feel about it.

To be fair, I don’t actually think that God has all that much time for baseball, but there is irrefutable evidence that He makes an appearance every once in a while. I would like to think the Big G was with Armando Galarraga on June 2nd, 2010, at least up until Jason Donald came to bat at the end of the game. Perhaps that was Satan, blocking the umpire’s view of the bag and thus causing a perfect game to go bad. But I digress.

Either way, Nelson Cruz stared at the ball as it whizzed by him for a called strike three and the game was lost 3-5. I guess America still wins regardless, but I felt like the whole thing was a setup by Russian spies to have the Texas Rangers still held back from the number one spot in the American League.

Phooey on them.

In all honesty, I think the Rangers played a hell of a series against the White Sox, even if they did lose two of the three games played. Recently the Rangers have been a high scoring team, but that may have just been because we were playing the bottom of the barrel National League teams for the last 4 weeks or so. And out of that, the Astros and Brewers were the only ones who put up much of a fight at all, whereas the Marlins and Pirates looked more like they were playing an exhibition game for young ladie’s softball teams.

And from this series against the White Sox, I must say that I’m a little weary of our trade for Bengie Molina. I’m sure that he’ll be a fine addition to the roster but only time will tell how well he’ll mesh with our pitching staff, which is arguably amongst the best in baseball at the moment. It’ll be sad to see Max Ramirez go to AAA, but perhaps there he can work on getting back to at least par. God love him, but it was always a chore to see him go out into the field rather than Matt Treanor. 

Other than that, there’s still a lot of baseball left in this season. Of course, we’re going to be facing some tough competition in this second half. New York will be coming through and I don’t expect that those games will be a cake walk for the Rangers, even with home field advantage. 

Josh Hamilton and Vlad Guerrero have been in top form during the month of June, and all we can do is hold our breath that they can do it all over again in July and beyond. The rest of the team is doing quite well, the only exception being Justin Smoak at the plate. He’s fantastic on the bag, but the plate is his mortal enemy as of late. I don’t really care if he started off being a patient batter and walking a lot, it seems as though he wants to fit in with the “big boys” and swing like a champ.

I love all those guys, don’t get me wrong. It’s easy from my perspective because my biggest stress is hitting the spell check, not hitting a baseball 400 some-odd feet out of the ballpark. I think the 2010 Texas Rangers are a fantastic ball club, and I’m crossing my fingers for the World Series still.

Hopefully once the All Star break is over we can go back to busting the chops out of the other teams and not worrying about going to Anaheim on July 13th. Until then we’ve got a couple of series that I think will be just the ticket for getting our focus back on track. The Indians and Orioles aren’t exactly the cream of the crop, so I expect that the minced meat series sweeps will continue on for a while.

Meanwhile, back on the farm, that’s all I have for tonight.

  
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

