Back to Basics


This has been one of the most disappointing weeks of the Texas Rangers’ season, and I gotta say that I’m thrilled that it’s over. Now that we have a few days off, save for the six we’re sending to the All Star Game on Tuesday, perhaps Nolan Ryan  and Ron Washington can beat some sense into the flailing ball club.

We went from a sultry, sexy 11 game winning streak to losing four straight to no less than the complete bottom of the barrel Baltimore Orioles. I’ll give the Orioles this: they played the hell out of the last four games and well done to them for accomplishing what most, myself included, thought would be the complete opposite.

Now don’t get me wrong, I still love and will root for the Rangers, but they have some proving to do. Not just to me and the rest of the fans, but to their own players and staff. You don’t just go from winning to losing like that without a reason, and it’s time now for the Rangers to figure out what that reason is. Does Bengie need to get more practice with our pitching staff? Does he need to let Matt Treanor take over for a week or so? Is there something in the water? Did they all get too excited to go see Eclipse that they were no longer able to play the game of baseball? Each is equally possible, in my humble opinion.

"THe 40 Year Old Virgin 2: Johnny 5 Needs a Hard Reboot

I am reminded of the 80’s film “Short Circuit.” In that film, everyone thinks that the escaped robot is out to kill, kill, kill. But in reality Johnny 5 just wants to be treated like everyone else…

 

Come to think of it, I don’t know why I thought about that movie. It has shit-all to do with what I’m talking about, but it’s a great movie anyway.

More to the point,  I really am reminded of the The Doors, arguably one of the greatest rock bands to ever take the stage. Their first few albums were fantastical damn near perfect! They had rock music down to a “T,” and then they put out the album “The Soft Parade.” Now, don’t get me wrong, I freakin’ love that album. The titular song is amongst my favorite Doors song out there, but that album was completely different. It had horns and strings instead of rock and poetry. It was lackluster, to say the least. Then they made it up to their fans by putting out their sixth and final album: “L.A. Woman.” Talk about back to basics. Their blues influence returned and they nailed the rock shit out of that album.

And so I think that the Texas Rangers need to do about the same. No more glitzy this or that, just get down to basics like they did in May and June. I hope they are humbled by their win streak, and I hope that they start after the All Star Game like they started May: with a hopeful attitude for a winning season.

I think they can do it. I think that they have what it takes. They have all the puzzle pieces, but it needs to be reassembled. Good on them for a job well done in the first half. Honestly. But let’s kick it up a notch in the second and win not just the American League West, but the American League all together! Hopefully the can realize that inside they are just as able to win as what they are now as opposed to what they were back then, kinda like how Johny 5 learned that he could be a robot and still wanna pork that hot chick he was shacking up with… Alright, I made that last one up…

Leave a Reply

