iPhone 4 Jailbreaking Made Easy


You mean I have to slide to jailbreak? Too complicated...

It would seem that as time goes by that certain things become technologically easier. Dial up made surfing a hassle, but now super fast speeds are feeding the “now” generation with little problem.

That being said, it was only matter of time before jailbreaking your iPhone became easy for anyone. If you can use Safari then you can jailbreak your iPhone 4. But of course that begs the question: Is jailbreaking your iPhone 4 really worth it?

Well, I haven’t found out yet because I haven’t decided on the answer. I think that a lot of the issues with the previous operating system were addressed with iOS4, but there are still key issues that leave me wanting more. For example, I really enjoyed being able to change every sound on my phone as I wished. A new email would make the old school AOL “You’ve Got Mail” sound, while a new text message would have Navi from Ocarina of Time yell, “Hey!”

Other examples are true multi-tasking. The current iOS4 allows for “multi-tasking,” not multi-tasking. An app does not run in the background while you reply to an email, it simply “freezes” until you come back. Certain apps allow for iTunes to run while doing other things, but people (including this guy) want to run anything while I do something else for a moment.

That being said, I loved the hell out of my jailbroken iPhone 3G. Users can take comfort, however, that the jailbreak is almost as easy to reverse as it is to do in the first place. Just plug it into your computer that runs your iTunes account and click the Restore button.

So without further rambles, here is how to easily jailbreak your iPhone 4 that is running on the 4.X firmware:

1. Back up your iPhone on iTunes by syncing your phone.

2. Take your iPhone out of your computer and then open Safari on your iPhone and navigate to http://www.jailbreakme.com.

3. If that link doesn’t work on your iPhone then try going to http://jailbreakme.modmyi.com.

4. There will be a slider, much like the unlock slide, that says “Slide to Jailbreak.” Slide it.

5. Wait.

It will take a few minutes to do, and if done properly then it will have installed Cydia to your iPhone. Cydia is the jailbroken iPhone App Store, if you will. There you will find all the jailbroken apps that Apple doesn’t allow on their store.

*I should point out that this does not unlock your phone to use with different carriers. That is totally different. To use this method you must have an AT&T sim card in the device. Jailbreak at your own risk. Doing so voids Apple warranties, and both Apple and AT&T will not help you with jailbreaking or undoing it. As the author, I must say that I have not tried this on my phone – yet – and cannot guarantee that it will work for you without problems. Do so at your own risk of phone failure.*

Phew, glad I got that off my chest.

That’s what she said.

Alright, now I’m just rambling. So try it if you like and if it does, in fact, work for you then please come back and let me know about your experience with it!

Please click the below buttons to tell your friends who might want to know about this. It’s handy info, and it’s FREE!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

